What’s Wrong With Justice in Taiwan?

 

There are so many things wrong with justice in Taiwan. Perhaps the root of the most serious problems lies in the misnomer of Taiwan’s judiciary being “independent.” What the judiciary itself and the government so proudly trumpet as a judicial system free of undue influence or control by the government is in reality a tight clique of inadequately prepared, narrow-minded, party-line demigods who are above and beyond the law, possessing the absolute power to interpret, bend, manipulate and subvert the law at will, accountable to no one and without any meaningful oversight or objective evaluation system to ensure they are performing their duties correctly.

As one official of the Judicial Yuan and another of the Control Yuan told me very matter-of-factly a couple years ago: The only way you can have a bad judge removed in Taiwan is to have indisputable proof of them in the act of accepting a bribe or their involvement in some other form of corruption. Judges in Taiwan are the “untouchables”, and as such they too often perform their duties with little or no regard for the island’s laws, evidence, reality, common sense or any regard for justice.

In a Sept. 3 editorial entitled “What has gone wrong with justice in Taiwan,” Lin Chia-Ho compares Taiwan’s judiciary to the Weimar Republic of Germany’s Kaiser at the end of World War I.

In his comparison, Lin states that “Judges under the Weimar Republic handled cases according to their own likes and dislikes. Defendants with whom they sympathized were let off lightly, but when it came to someone a judge disliked the law was often strictly interpreted and the harshest penalty imposed.”

This kind of subjective, biased treatment has been one of the hallmarks of Taiwan’s modern-day courts. And, of course, this sort of treatment is applied in many different ways. In my case, I was the “foreign” plaintiff the judges disliked and the judges manipulated the proceedings, their interpretations of relevant laws, and the decision so that the Taiwanese defendants were not found guilty of anything. In one instance, Dr. Tsay Show-Liu, nursing university chairperson, had broken the law by revealing my name in the email sent to colleagues, but the judges totally ignored the law and accepted the defendant’s flimsy claim that it was necessary to spread my name to protect other students. This all before I had been notified of the false allegation, before my first meeting with the investigation committee and long before the decision was made by the school. Equally disturbing, the judges disregarded another fact that after the allegation was reported, the nursing university continued to allow me to teach all my classes as usual AND an optional 2-week summer English course – a period spanning 5 weeks. If as they claimed in court that I was a “danger to other students,” why didn’t they just release me from my remaining courses while the investigation proceeded and maintain my privacy as REQUIRED by law. Both the accuser’s and the accused’s identities are supposed to be protected under the Gender Equity in Education law.

In addressing the fallacy of the Taiwanese government’s claims of an independent, unbiased judiciary, Lin later writes “Ironically, it was judicial independence and abstract legal concepts that provided those judges with the ability to abuse their power and a fig leaf to cover their abuses. Although the Weimar Republic had constitutional protections; the problem was that its judges did not apply them equally to allies and opponents. In effect, this was a kind of institutional state violence.”

Taiwan is full of just this kind of institutional state abuse and corruption.

You can read the rest of what Prof. Lin had to say at What has gone wrong with justice in Taiwan?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Taiwan Longtimer
    Nov 08, 2011 @ 13:34:10

    Hi Pow3hatan,

    Writing from Taiwan here. Just want you to know that I’ve been reading your blogs and posts for many months with great interest. You’re a good writer, and I think that you’re doing a great service for both foreignors and citizens of Taiwan.

    One thing – for the last several weeks, I’ve been having a problem opening up your “warrior4justice.blogspot.com” site. When I try to open it, it usually freezes and brings on the “end program” box. The times I can get onto it, it’s jumbled and strangely formatted. I really don’t know if it’s a problem with the computers I’m using or with your site. I suggest you find out if others in Taiwan or elsewhere are having the same trouble. If so, I hope you can get it fixed.

    Wishing you all the best in your new job.

    Take care

    Taiwan Longtimer

    Reply

    • pow3hatan
      Nov 14, 2011 @ 22:21:42

      Hi LL,

      Well…this is the THIRD time I’m trying to reply to you today. First attempt somehow disappeared when I paused for a a couple minutes, then second attempt got wiped out when first my internet disconnected and then while trying to reconnect my system crashed and I lost the completed reply…UGGH! Sometimes when I want to write something for one of the blogs I can’t because of internet connection problems here.
      Thanks for your heads-up about the problems connecting to my “warrior4justice” blog from the link on this blog. I also appreciate your continued interest in following my blog and your encouraging feedback. In recent months I’ve had to slow my output because I’ve been working some six-day weeks at my school due to a teacher shortage and I’ve had some personal matters that need more attention too. There’s still plenty more to write about and share on my blogs.
      I checked the link to my Blogger blog and it works fine for me. However, on some computers outside of my home I have experienced some problems and weird page layouts when accessing the blog site. Some months ago Blogger initiated some major reformatting of the site and I migrated to the new look. This might be the reason for your problems. When I’ve accessed my blog from other computers, sometimes I get a message saying the browser needs to be updated in order to view the site correctly. If you’re using an older version of your browser, try updating it or using another browser and see if that works. If not, perhaps you need to update your Adobe Flash Player or Shockwave player. I think Blogger requires one or both of these to view the new format correctly.
      Please let me know if you are successful or not. Meanwhile, I’ll post a message asking if anyone else is experiencing problems viewing the site.

      Regards,
      Curtis

      Reply

  2. ll
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 18:55:17

    Hi Curtis,

    Sorry it’s taken so long to reply. These have been some busy and bad weeks.

    Your “warrior4justice” site still does not open properly on the various computers I’ve tried here in Yilan. When I try, I usually get an image of linking gears, and then my internet connection will crash. When I do a Google search for “pow3hatan”, the first result reads exactly as such [SIC]:

    “Taiwan's Injustice To Expats (& Other Foreign Guests)”

    I don’t know why the first Google link to your site looks so strange Or why it doesn’t open up.

    Also, I want you to know that over the the last 5 months, I have had some terrible experiences with the Legal Aid Foundation in Taiwan, while asking for their help in getting information about the death of my wife – information that has been impossible for me to attain in the 18 months since her death. The LAF employees I’ve dealt with have been incredibly uncooperative.

    I’ve also asked for the LAF’s help in finding a lawyer to help me press a criminal complaint against a major newspaper that (without my permission) published my photograph, along with a libelous and defamatory article about me. Thus far, the LAF refused to help in any way.

    In fact, even when I asked the Yilan LAF for copies ot the Chinese-written documents I had signed for them – the Yilan head officer (Chen Bi-Hua) explained that there is an “internal rule” which prohibits them from doing so. Ms. Chen then destroyed all of the paperwork I had filled out for them and personally deleted all computer and internet records. Every record of my plea for an attorney is gone,

    I really understand your frustration, Curtis.

    LL

    Reply

  3. ll
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 19:04:17

    I’m not sure why, but my post didn’t transcribe properly. I hope it gets through this time. When I google “pow3hatan” from Taiwan, the first link to your site does not make any sense.

    When (in Taiwan), I do a google search for “pow3hatan”, the first result reads SIC: “Taiwan's Injustice to Expats (& Other Foreign Guests)”

    Reply

    • pow3hatan
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 12:41:40

      Hi LL,

      I was on vacation for a couple of weeks, including a week in Taipei, and just got back to Jakarta a few days ago and catching up on lots of things before I resume work today.
      There was a problem for a while with the title of my other blog and the apostrophe (‘) and & characters were displayed incorrectly in the title heading. I tried again yesterday to correct them and finally the title displays correctly as “Taiwan’s Injustice to Expats (and Other Foreign Guests)” Your Google search under my blog name brings up the correct result for my Blogger blog. Not sure what is the problem with it coming up in a “non-language” sometimes. Could you copy it and send it to me?
      The image of linking gears is correct and is supposed to carry you into my blog. I’m not sure what this type of program or coding this is, but I guess you are unable to continue to my blog because of the internet browser on the computers you are using. On some of the computers in my office, the same thing happens as with you: I see the gears spinning and then the browser either freezes or crashes and I can’t reach my blog. On my home laptop, I have no problem and have used IE 8 and 9 as well as the latest Google Chrome and Firefox browser versions.
      More in my next message about experiences with the Legal Aid Farce.

      Curtis

      Reply

  4. ll
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 19:10:22

    The words that appear on my post are not the same words that I typed. When I do a search for “Pow3hatan” from Yilan, Taiwan, the first Google result does not make sense at all. Not in any language.

    Reply

Leave a comment